An area with a continuous human presence, today it gathers the Neolithic settlements of Sesklos and Dimini, the Mycenaean settlement in Dimini, the city of the classical times on the hill of Goritsa, the ancient Dimitriada, the early Christian basilicas of the Phthiotids of Thebes in Nea Aghialos, outstanding monuments of folk architecture in the settlements of Pelion and unique collections and exhibitions from the Paleolithic era to the recent industrial tradition.
Magnesia got its name from the first inhabitants of the area, including the Magnetes, descendants of Aeolus, god of the winds and daring seafarers of the time. In ancient Iolko, the heroes of Greek mythology gathered and led by Jason, they set off with the Argo for distant Colchis, in search of the golden fleece.

In Pelion lived the Centaurs and the wise Chiron, under whom Achilles studied as well as Asclepius who was taught medicine. The area has been inhabited since early prehistoric times. The most important archaeological finds of the Neolithic Age in Sesklos (beginning of the 7th millennium BC) and Dimini (end of the 5th millennium BC), where a great civilization developed, the Mycenaean sites in the area of ​​Iolkos, which flourished during 13th and 14th century BC.

The Pagases who gave their name to the Pagasetic gulf, the ancient Ferestes in today's Valestino, the ancient Alos near Almyros, the Phthiotides Thebes in today's Nea Aghialos, the Ancient city of Dimitrias which he founded at the beginning of the 3rd century. BC, the Macedonian King, Demetrius the Besieger, are historical monuments of worldwide interest. During the Turkish occupation, several settlements of Pelion developed into important capital villages, reaching a particular economic and intellectual prosperity during the 18th century.

Magnesia early took part in the Revolution of 1821 and was incorporated into the free Greek state in 1881

An important role in the evolution and development of the region was played by the settlement of refugees after the Asia Minor Disaster of 1922.

Editor: Fotini Anastasopoulou