The Monastery of the Holy Forerunner of Naoussa is located between Naoussa and Giannakochori and is built in a picturesque and green location.
It is believed that the monastery of Prodromos of Naoussa was built in the seventh century and is the oldest monastery of Naoussa.
The monastery was destroyed many times over the centuries. Many of the disasters are due to the important role it played in the national history of the place. From Turkish documents we learn that the monastery of Prodromos was set on fire in 1822. Only the church that was renovated in 1844 was saved, as an inscription on the western lintel testifies.
The monastery suffered a new disaster in 1906, when it was set on fire by the Bulgarians and its cells were destroyed. Although they were rebuilt, unfortunately, they would later have the same fate in 1944, in a conflict between the Greeks of the National Resistance and the occupation troops.
Today the holy monastery of Prodromos Naoussis with the old architectural church was renovated by the Metropolis of Veria and Naoussis and functions as a women's monastery
. Editor: Fotini Anastasopoulou